Moving on up?

So that job I interviewed for, the one I wanted and had a good chance of getting? They went with a former employee. Enough said.

Been thinking more and more about moving elsewhere. I brought it up with FH last night. We’ve talked about it before, and this summer even went as far as to visit a town that’s two hours from NYC, just to get a sense of what life would be like. It’s always been in the plans, but not so much in our immediate plans.

However a few things have changed. For one, we bought a car. Secondly, in April FH lost his biggest client. The client that essentially paid our rent. This was also a client who he needed to visit more than once a week. With them out of the picture, FH could (in theory, anyway) get all his work done one day a week. If we lived elsewhere, he could drive down to NYC once a week to work. Or, we could all visit on the weekends, which would solve another problem: separation of the baby and grandparents.

This is sounding more and more like it could be doable. It’s still all hinging on me finding a job. But, with the cost of living outside of NYC so much lower, I don’t have that much pressure to find a top-paying job.

The more I think about it, the more I convince myself that this is the path we are supposed to take. I am a little weary of the fact that FH has never lived outside of Brooklyn before. I’d be taking him away from his family and friends. (I lived in upstate New York for four years when I attended college.) There is a slight chance that a move would put a strain on our relationship. But he’s willing to take that chancewith me. And he has such an open and laid-back personality that I don’t see it being a problem.

 Let’s find that job!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by fire fades away on June 1, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    where did you go to college? we need to talk. i’m moving to upstate ny in a few weeks!

    Reply

Leave a comment