Party in the potty, in the potty!

Yesterday I imported all of my previous blog’s posts into this blog. I can’t believe how easy it was, especially since my previous blog wasn’t on WordPress. It even imported all the tags (called categories here) and comments! I’m officially a fan of WordPress.

Today is day three of my attempt to blog daily. So far, so good, although I’m not sure if I’ll be as successful going forward. I have the next four days off, and I blog mainly at work. FH doesn’t know about this blog. Yet. I have managed to keep it semi-private. A few random friends know about it, but for the most part, it’s anonymous.

This morning, my son pooped in the potty. You can read about my views on early potty training here. We have been putting him on the potty once a day (while one of us is on the toilet ourselves) for the past two weeks. He’s been peeing in the potty once a day for the past 2 weeks. Today was the first time he went number 2. At some point soon (tomorrow?), FH and I will start putting him on a few times a day, and hopefully he’ll start getting used to eliminating in the potty and not in his diaper.

Let me just emphasize that we are in no way forcing him. He gets a big hug and lots of kisses if he goes in the potty, but if he doesn’t, it’s not a big deal. We are using the same training method that would be done on an older child, just at a younger age. He is still in disposable diapers. We would love to switch to cloth, but we don’t have access to a washer/dryer so that makes it difficult. This is our humble attempt to reduce the number of diapers that end up in landfills.

I am so proud of my little man. And I am thrilled to have a partner by my side who shares my views. Since FH takes care of Z while I’m at work, it’s important that he’s on board with this whole early potty training exercise. I love that he’s open to every unconventional idea I throw at him.

Next up, the bottle vs. sippy cup debate.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Marianne on June 2, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    Go little Z. 🙂 That’s amazing! I remember you said you would start it if he showed he can sleep through the night without wetting himself. I guess he is doing that now and that’s cool!

    Reply

Leave a comment