Working Mom

I’m into my third week at this temporary five-week job. While I’m working 9-5 four days a week, FH has been home with the baby. Yes, my darling fake husband is also a stay-at-home dad. It’s just about the cutest thing ever. The situation could not be more ideal. His work is done at client’s homes and offices, on his own time. He can go after normal business hours or on weekends, or he can take the baby with him, since he’s only working for an hour at a time. His clients all love the baby, so he’s able to hand him off (thank goodness our child is a very calm little person, who loves just about everyone) and get his work done.

So far, he’s a much better SAHD than I was a SAHM. He gets chores done, he cooks, he cleans. I am not good with free time. I work much, much better under a deadline, so if I have one thing to do and the whole day to do it, I’ll spend the whole day procrastinating and get it done at the end of the day. The reversal of traditional gender roles is really working for us. I feel lucky.

I am a breastfeeding mom, and have been pumping my milk while at work, twice a day. So far its been working out but I’m concerned that the baby may not be getting enough breastmilk. There is not definite amount of breastmilk that a baby needs. It all depends on the individual. I have been reading the forums and all the moms seem to feed their children more breastmilk than I do. I pump about 10 ounces at work, which FH feeds him in the morning then at lunch. Then I come home and breastfeed him in the afternoon, in the evening before bed and again when he wakes up in the early morning (around 4am), It seems like it’s enough. He’s also getting a lot of solids. He’s growing and developing normally so I shouldn’t be too worried. However, we picked up a can of organic formula this weekend, just to be on the safe side.

Now if only I can find a job that lasts longer than 5 weeks.

One response to this post.

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog and for the advice on breast-pumps. Everyone keeps telling me Medela Pump in Style, we’ll see if I can actually break down and make myself pay that much!! I’m thinking that since I will be a SAHM I may not need to go that elaborate, but we’ll see. Thanks again, and good luck with the job hunt!

    Reply

Leave a comment